Day 7: YA Read List and Stephen King

Since my daughter discovered the Twilight series and started finally getting into reading I’ve been sharing young adult novels with her. I love connecting with her in this way. I took a lot of work on my end to find something to drag her away from Twilight but I did it. Now we enjoy quite a bit of reading together.

My summer reading list:

  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Crossed by Ally Condie
  • Fever by Lauren DeStefano
  • Destined by Aprilynne Pike
  • Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  • Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

After I’m done with these I’m not sure what I’m going to read. I am thinking about finally tackling the Dark Tower series by Stephen King.

I was a teen when I started reading The Dark Tower series. I ran to the bookstore with my hard earned money to buy The Waste Lands. I was so excited. I had just discovered the series and got the first two books from the library and the librarian let me know the third was coming out.

When I get into a book I don’t take time reading it the first time. In fact I can’t really say what I do is reading at all. It’s more like I devour. No, I don’t skip parts of the book. I don’t jump to the back page and read the ending first. I just dedicate every second that is “free” to reading. I read fast, comprehend fast and retain fast. In middle school I was tested at 650 words a minute and that was while reading nervously. I was worried I’d make a mistake on the test afterward. I know that there are much faster readers than myself but I’m not a relaxed reader. At least not until the second read.

Back to King and his wicked story. I was a late bloomer when it comes to reading. It took my twelve-year-old self being stuck at my Aunt’s house for six months in the “sticks” with nothing but the static filled sounds of radio stations for entertainment. There was no T.V. and no place to go. The nearest neighbor was a half a mile down the road. I learned to love reading stories as much as I loved creating them.

I was sixteen-years-old when I found The Dark Towers series. I devoured The Waste Lands the day it came out; I stayed up all night reading that book. When it ended I did something I had never done before. I threw it. The poor book slammed against the wall and smacked the floor. It stayed there for a good while.

I had to wait! I devoured my books. Wait?! How was I going to wait for the next book to come out when Mr. King left The Waste Lands off in the hands of Blaine?

Wait I did.

Wait.

Wait.

Wait.

Anyone who read this series or follows Stephen King might already know exactly how long I waited.

Seven years.

I might be off by a year, but I’m pretty sure it was seven years. For reasons unknown to me the first release date was suddenly put off even and we had to wait even longer. A little booklet with like the first three chapters, including apologies, was given out in place of the actual book.

My husband loved The Dark Towers. I have yet to read Wizards and Glass. It has been approx. thirteen years since the release of Wizards and Glass and I have never read it nor the rest of the series. Why? I don’t know. I’ve read other Stephen King books since then. I really think it’s been psychological. Seriously weird thing to have an emotional issue that deep about, I know. I never said I was easy. 😉

So… I’m thinking about finally getting it done and over with. I’ll start 100% over with The Gunslinger. I remember the story very well, but I’d like it to be fresh in my head.

I’m probably going to throw some Urban Fantasy stories in the mix of my “2012 read” list. I know off the top of my head about 4-5 books that I’m waiting to be released. There’s also all kinds of new authors to discover.

Good night. It’s reading time.

Leave a Reply

