Day 8: Summer Vacation

Summer

I step outside, inhale deeply and choke on the moisture soaked air.

He laughs at me, “Take a drink.”

I whip the ball at him, trying not to laugh, as I give him the evil look.

He pretends shock as he catches the white ball with ease.

Then, the glint of the lake catches my eye and all is forgotten.

The heat, humidity, hot dirt burning the bottoms of my feet.

Him.

I take off on a run, ditching my shirt and shorts on the sand.

“Hey! Wait for me.” He complains.

Who cares? The gulls call out their joy as diamonds sparkle on the distant surface.

Almost there.

My heart pounds with my excitement and then it happens.

The cool waters of Lake Michigan welcome me home.

Ah, summer vacation.

Leave a Reply

