Catching Up and Book Reviews (Ally Condie, Rachel Caine, Jeaniene Frost)

This has not been a good summer so far for my family. There has been a lot of hardships. So far, while it feels like there’s some kind of cosmic prankster focused on us, we are surviving and eventually every thing will pass by and we’ll be good for a while again.

So, I’m taking an opportunity to catch up.

Writing Prompts- I am still hoping to find someone that would like to buddy up with me on posting writing prompts. Until some of the home issues calm down I am not going to be able to post writing prompts promptly. *winks*

My writing- Is on hold as well.

Reading hasn’t been an easily achieved thing either. My read list is pathetic! Only seven books so far this year. Here is some short reviews of three of the books I’ve read recently.

Short Book Review (Spoiler Free)

Crossed by Ally Condie (YA)

From Goodreads.com

Crossed by Ally Condie

Chasing down an uncertain future, Cassia makes her way to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky–taken by the Society to his sure death–only to find that he has escaped into the majestic, but treacherous, canyons. On this wild frontier are glimmers of a different life and the enthralling promise of a rebellion. But even as Cassia sacrifices every thing to reunite with Ky, ingenious surprises from Xander may change the game once again.

My Thoughts

I enjoyed Matched. I also enjoyed Crossed. The first book was written from Cassia’s point of view. In this new book it flips back and forth between Cassia and Ky. At first I wasn’t sure what I felt about this. I have a hard time switching from something I’m used to. My experience previously was that the story was being told solely from Cassia’s point of view, so finding this had changed with book #2 was difficult for me to accept.

I did get into the story though and quickly found myself getting lost in Ky’s story as well as Cassia’s.

Since book one, I haven’t been a fan of the “love triangle” surrounding Xander, Cassia and Ky. Seeing things from Cassia’s point of view though, thinking about her life, the mind set she would be in, I can understand how this triangle came about. This book does not leave many opportunities for Xander to “fight” for his side of the triangle, but he does get a couple. I feel it is obvious that in the end Cassia will be with Ky, but maybe the author will surprise me with book three.

The world building in this second novel was brilliant. I enjoyed reading about Cassia’s world, both the one she was familiar and comfortable with and the tragic world outside her comfort zone that is going to teach Cassia how to fight for what she wants. This easily had to be my favorite thing about Crossed.

I look forward to the last book of the trilogy.

Ill Wind by Rachel Caine

Ill Wind by Rachel Caine

From goodreads.com

Joanne Baldwin is a Weather Warden. Usually, all it takes is a wave of her hand to tame the most violent weather. But now, she’s trying to outrun another kind of storm: accusations of corruption and murder. So, she’s resorting to the very human tactic of running for her life…

Her only hope is Lewis, the most powerful warden known. Unfortunately, he’s stolen not one but three bottles of Djinn-making him the most wanted man on earth. Still, she’s racing hard to find him-before the bad weather closes in fast…

My Thoughts:

Ill Wind is the first novel of a series of novels by author Rachel Caine. It is not a new series and there are quite a few books available to read. I enjoyed this first story due to the world building. I enjoyed the author’s vision of people gifted with the ability to control the elements.

Rachel is being chased by someone who obviously wants her dead. She doesn’t know who this person(s) is but she has a few guesses including the organization that she “works” for. The story starts off leaving the reader feeling as lost and clueless as Rachel is. I’m impatient. I know. This is why I give a story like this a chance. The author didn’t disappoint me. I was clued in to Rachel’s plight at a pace that kept me reading without stress.

What I didn’t like about the book was I felt some of the story was a little too obvious. I had it figured out quickly who exactly it was trying to kill Rachel. A particular character is busy helping Rachel throughout the story and I had him pegged from the start also.

Other than that, I did enjoy the story and I think I will check out book two soon.

Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost

Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost

From goodreads.com

She’s a mortal with dark powers…

After a tragic accident scarred her body and destroyed her dreams, Leila never imagined that the worst was still to come: terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and learn a person’s darkest secrets through a single touch. Leila is doomed to a life of solitude…until creatures of the night kidnap her, forcing her to reach out with a telepathic distress call to the world’s most infamous vampire…

He’s the Prince of Night…

Vlad Tepesh inspired the greatest vampire legend of all—but whatever you do, don’t call him Dracula. Vlad’s ability to control fire makes him one of the most feared vampires in existence, but his enemies have found a new weapon against him—a beautiful mortal with powers to match his own. When Vlad and Leila meet, however, passion ignites between them, threatening to consume them both. It will take everything that they are to stop an enemy intent on bringing them down in flames.

My Thoughts:

Omg, omg, omg! I have been waiting on tiptoes for Once Burned to be released and it’s finally here. I am a fan of Jeaniene Frost’s “Night Huntress” series (beginning with Half Way to the Grave). When Jeaniene’s Vlad character appeared in the Night Huntress series I instantly fell in love with the character and wanted to see more of him. Jeaniene gave us that with this book!

*sighs* My biggest complaint? It didn’t last long enough. I devoured this book in a single day. I am a bit of a late comer to the Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance genre. Often, when I find a new author/book in this genre, he/she/it has been around for awhile and I have a few books to sink my teeth into. Where is the rest of the “Night Prince” series?! Shouldn’t I have a bunch of books waiting for me to devour?
Ok, I’ll have to be patient just like everyone else and wait for Jeaniene Frost to publish more of this series.
I think it’s obvious. I loved this book. It was fun!

 

One thought on “Catching Up and Book Reviews (Ally Condie, Rachel Caine, Jeaniene Frost)

Leave a Reply

