Sunday Prompt: Civilized?

One of the few things I remember from my 10th grade year history class was a movie we watched in class and the verbal report I had to write on my opinion regarding civilization as presented by the movie.

What movie? Ah umm *blush*. I was a horrible student. I barely paid attention to the class let alone the movie.

I remember something about a man trying to introduce Christianity to a (maybe) African tribe?

Anyway, I was listening to an old song that I haven’t heard in years. The name of the song is Mr. Wendal by Arrested Development.

There is a line in the song, “uncivilized we call him, but I just saw him eat off the food we waste.”

This line, for whatever reason, jogged my memory of the movie in class and the report that followed.

Civilized, are we? What is civilization? And like Arrested Development questions, “who are we to judge?”

Today’s prompt: Imagine a situation that could result in our sophisticated society suddenly being thrust into a de-civilization. (Based upon your own ideals.)

Now toss your character to the wolves and see how she/he survives/behaves/reacts.

Leave a Reply

